36M 5’5/5’6 207-ish lbs need help getting started

annamoon720

I’ve done nothing but gain weight since turning 30 and getting married and I’ve got to change

What’s do I need to be aware of nutritionally compared to when I was younger? My goal is to put on a lot muscle and lean out and just feel better than I ever have

I don’t have access to a gym or free weights currently (hopefully I will in a few months), are there any good programs I can follow for body weight resistance? I’m not good at just winging it

What should my calories goal be? I plan on hitting 1gr of protein per pound bars minimum

Edit: forgot to mention I got a walking pad so I can try to get 10k steps 5 days a week during work

@annamoon720 I personally know that I do better starting with diet and losing a majority of my excess weight before starting weight training, but I’m female. When I’ve tried to recomp, the evidence of change is less obvious and I get distracted.

@cph Thanks for sharing, part of me feels like it may feel slower at first but if I put on muscle…in theory it should raise my metabolism, right?

@annamoon720 Yes, but if you want to put on muscle you have to eat more, but if you want to lose fat you need to eat less. Essentially you’re doing both half a**; losing weight slowly or staying the same and building muscle slowly. I’ve read a lot of articles about how it’s better to cut then bulk because you’ve “trained” your body to be more efficient and it will want to build muscle. There are a lot of articles if you google “should I cut or bulk?”

@undergodsmercytoo Is whole 30 a diet plan? I already don’t drink and don’t eat sweets. It’s just the daily fast food at dinner that gets me in guessing… even tho I try to be conscious of how many calories in taking in… which really isn’t a lot