Are macros necessary for Fat loss as a vegan?!

asuheel24

I am new to the vegan community (going on 7 weeks). I initially saw a great response in my body when I transitioned to a plant based diet, tons of bloating gone, visible size difference in just 2 weeks. However the scale has not moved. I was doing only cardio for the first few weeks and just switched back to my normal weight lifting workouts (heavy compound lifts 5x/week with ploys and 3-4 HIIT sessions/week).

I counted macros for 5 years as a non vegan and when I transitioned I threw macros out the window just filling my meals with tons of veggies and plant based foods.

However, I recently counted my macros one day to see where I was since I felt like I was making backwards progress and noticed my fat was wayyy too high. (90 grams!) so i did a macro calculator and read a bunch of threads on here and decided I would shoot for 50-60g protein, 55g fat, and just whatever my carbs landed at for the day, as long as I am filling myself with veggies. (I am 27 y/o female, 5’4”, 143lbs)

Is counting macros pertinent to fat loss as a vegan? Can I just eat as many carbs as I want and still lose? Or do I need to track my carbs and stay within a certain range? I don’t want to put a number on it really but I’d love to be back in the 130s. I’ve been stuck at 143 for 6 MONTHS OMG.

Thanks in advance for any help/advice!!

@asuheel24 All that matters for fat loss is calories. Eat below your TDEE and you will lose weight. If you haven't lost weight in 6 months, then you are eating at maintenance.