Arms lagging (?), 5'9 and 165lbs

mohitraletta

38 years old. I've been spinning my wheels more or less for years since I was a definition of skinny fat. I have pretty bad arms genetic as seen in the photo before I started lifting.

I've been running a bulk since March and gained about 12 pounds. Should I continue bulk for a while or start the cut?

The lowest I've been after my teens was 19% bf I think. Every time I cut I feel like I become too small an just start bulking again.

Any advice regarding cut/bulk and growing arms is much appreciated. Currently running Jim Wendlers 5/3/1 bodybuilding routine 4x per week.

before lifting

Today and yesterday

@mohitraletta You hold significantly less fat on your arms than the rest. If you'd get shredded I dont think your arms are behind tbh, theyll stay basically the same size while your chest and stomach should shrink down a decent amount.

@mohitraletta You're running a low volume strength program that has no arm movements programmed into the base routine. Why would you expect your arms to grow anything less than the rest of you?

@mohitraletta This program pretty much has arms as an after thought.. If you want your arms to grow, you'll want to run a program that trains arms first, for at at least 1 or 2 of the days. This program is definitely more strength biased.

I'd suggest running one of Geoffrey Verity Schofield's programs, or one of Bald Omni man's programs.

@brodri91 Don't blame the program, 531 bodybuilding is solid, op just isn't Training arms hard enough. The program isn't probably suitable for him or he doesn't know how to use it.

@mohitraletta Anything that:

-fits into your weekly day/time routine

-has more arm isolation movements
  • has less high-systemic fatiguing movements
-allows you to push those isolation movements hard without joint pain

@mohitraletta Are you not just throwing in arms at the end of every workout? I try to get them in everytime.