Get in better shape without losing weight?

aleethia

Hi everyone,

I’m new to taking fitness seriously. I’d like to build a little bit of muscle and not lose much weight in that process and I’m not sure where to start.

F, age 32, 5’4” and about 110-115lbs.

I’m naturally thin and what I’d call “skinny fat”- not much muscle there. I’d like to start working out, i feel like I need to do a little cardio as I’m a former smoker, but I really do not want to lose weight. I’d like to put on 10-15 lbs instead.

I do some (easier) hiking on a fairly regular basis in the warmer months but I’d like to end up able to comfortably do some more difficult hiking and generally look more fit.

Any tips welcome, thank you!

ETA: I eat fairly healthily and eat plant based probably 5/7 days a week, with lots of carbs and protein on the days that I go without meat.

@aleethia Find out your daily caloric need using an online calculator. Eat 300-500 more calories a day than that, ensuring you're getting enough protein.

Get on a proper lifting program, such as one found at

/r/fitness

Or /r/xxfitness (female fitness sub)

@aleethia Weightlifting, particularly squats and deadlifts and hip thrusts, makes your whole body stronger and really improves running and hiking performance. Personally with hiking I find the only real way to train is to hike, you can wear a heavy pack and walk up hills if you don't have trails right close to home.

If you have a scale, weighing yourself regularly will keep you honest. If you're just trying to get stronger and perform better, you don't need to count calories right off the bat. If you're losing weight, eat more. If you're gaining weight but pants still fit great, you're building muscle.