How much is a good caloric deficiency?

nuggets71

I’ve been lifting for 5 months now and running and doing Orange Theory classes for cardio. Workout from 4-6 times a week. I get the full body muscle and body fat scans at Orange Theory too. I’ve gained 5 lbs of muscle and lost 4 lbs of fat, but now I’m gaining weight!! 4 lbs in the past 2 weeks. I’ve been eating high protein meals and I don’t eat processed food nuts all whole foods. I eat a ton of veggies. Very little sugar except two cubes in my coffee. Yes, I will cheat with a couple beers in a weekend night once or twice a month or a desert with my kids randomly. But otherwise, super healthy. But my clothes are getting tighter and I’m not seeing the changes I want to for what I thought was a good diet and exercise. 43 female, 144 lbs, 5’ 5”. I should be 130 for my normal size (up until I was 36). But I’d be happy at 134lbs and a size smaller.

I’m eating about 1500 calories a day and 80grams of protein. Should I drop my calories down by 300-400 a day? I need to lose this fat!!! Help!

@nuggets71 Do you weigh yourself daily and at the same time each day? Your weight will fluctuate and you should go off an average for the week instead of a random weigh in from week to week. If you’re truly eating 1500 just stick with it and you will lose weight. Muscle does take up space so your clothes may not fit for that reason. Try to focus on the way you look and feel in your work outs as a metric rather than just a number on the scale.

@olusanya800 I weight myself once a week in the morning right when I wake up. Weight wise I wasn’t too concerned until my jeans started feeling way tighter. I just don’t think I’m burning enough fat to make up for the muscle gain? How to do that is not reducing calories more?