Made it to the 1,000lb club!!

kevin247

Yesterday I hit a 455lb deadlift, which brought my total up to 1,002lb. I am super psyched! When I started out I couldn't even imagine this was even possible. Bodyweight between 137 and 140lb.

Videos of lifts

Squat 347 lb + stiff bar comp deadlift of 435 lb

Bench 200 lb

Deadlift 455 lb on deadlift bar

Training

I've been lifting off and on since the summer of 2011, so about 6.5 years. I started powerlifting training specifically in the fall of 2013, my 1st powerlifting meet was summer 2014.

I was self coached up until this past summer, when I started working with RTS and Mike.

I did starting strength my 1st year of powerlifting but stalled out around the time I did my 1st meet. My numbers were S:245 B:135 D:335 @120lb bodyweight. After that, I switched to a PPL x2 that I wrote. I did that for another year and a half till my lifts were around S: 275 B:150 D:405. I then started an upper/lower split where I did bench 2x a week and squat + deadlifts 2x a week but I alternated which I focused on as the main lift. I was on that until I started coaching with RTS. My lifts were S:315 B:175 D:425 and bodyweight was 128 out of comp.

Current Training

I decided to go up a weight class at that time, from 125 (57kg) to 138 (63kg). I am 5'5 so I was doing myself a huge disservice competing in the 57kg class where everyone else was a half foot smaller than me. Since going up 4 months ago, my lifts have increased dramatically and so has my wilks! RTS had me on an upper/lower split similar to my old one till I competed at USAPL Raw Nationals last month.

Since Nationals, I have been on a full body routine 4x a week, with a bench variation each workout as well as a squat or deadlift variation and accessories. The volume each workout is low to make up for the high frequency. It took my joints and muscles about 3 weeks to get used to the frequency. I seem to be handling it ok now.