No negotiable for a lifting program to address imbalances?

godislove614

31F quite experienced in lifting heavy. I usually workout 4/5 times a week (4 it’s my sweet spot) of weight training and my focus is strength and hypertrophy as I struggle to build old muscle. I’m also currently in a slight calories surplus.

My problem is that I have an hip imbalances that reflects also in my shoulders. This impact my squat form and my bench one for example, limiting my ability to increase weight and quality of the movement.
I’ve booked with a physiotherapist once back from holidays but I’d like to structure my program to still pursuing my mass building goal while working on those imbalances.
Here are how I would modify my program:
  • main compounds in 7-8 of RPE, 8-10 reps range. I’m afraid strength ght would bring me to injury until I don’t fix those imbalances
  • tons of symmetric exercises to balance the two sides
  • heard good things about ud Isometric holds to build symmetry but don’t know much about it..?
  • same as above regarding using cables, is this a myth ?
  • should I train more “functionally”?
  • ofc I’ll do appropriate mobility following the physio advices
Any advice of what is the best way to cope with this is more than welcome!

@godislove614 I'm in the same boat as you. 30M, noticing a lot more Hip imbalances recently, especially in the last year or so. Not super surprising given that my job requires me to sit, but I was surprised that all of my exercising didn't prevent it.

Anyway, I'm also looking for a physical therapist. But in the meantime, what I have started doing is a whole list of unilateral lower body exercises, some specifically targeting the hip muscles, and some targeting a host of muscles.