Posting program from 48 y/o M former SFG who just wants to be healthy and strong enough

lostscaredme

While I’m a former SFG, I’m also a physical therapist and kettlebells have become a staple to my training. I had various injuries over my 30+ years of training and feel very healthy and solid, although I will need surgery to correct a hip deformity in the next month so I can avoid a total replacement later. I also had a pec tear from a fall out of a tree a few years ago, but that’s what I get for climbing trees at 45. I’m 6’1” and 213 lbs today. I’ve been as heavy as 220 and as light as 180 at some point in the last 10 years.

I can’t imagine a time when I won’t incorporate kbs somehow, but there are so many long programs using them and I get bored easily, so I came up with a mix that supports me personally and my goals. YMMV but I’ve realized that rushing towards gainz only brings me painz. Here goes:

-Workout 1: S&S; currently using 24 for swings and 28 for TGU

-Day off or light ex(e.g yoga, Indian clubs, walking, assault bike, swimming)

-Workout 2: Assault bike x 10 min. DB bench press and trap bar dead lifts (BP1, DL1, BP2, DL2, etc). Finish with pull-up/neutral/ chin-up wide to narrow “mechanical advantage” set. 70 lbs DB and 320 lbs DL top sets (explanation of progression below)

-Day off or light ex

-Workout 3: S&S

-Day off or light ex

-Workout 4: Double clean and presses and double front squats (progressions below)

-1 day off
  • Day off or light ex
At every 4th or 5th round of the above cycle, I take at least 4 full days off, then start it over again either going back a week or where I left off depending on how I’m feeling. I have this equipment at home and I rarely went to the gym even when I had my membership. I’ve been doing this program for about a year.

Progressions: