Questions about calories/ weight loss

charlief90

for starters i’m 19m, 5’8, and 142lbs. I have a fast metabolism for sure and it’s always helped me until this year. i used to play soccer for my high school and club team but since graduating i haven’t played soccer, and have been doing a one year long fully virtual certification. i spend about 10-12 hours of the 24 either doing school or playing video games w friends and etc. i’ve put on a few pounds but im still skinny, i’ve j lost my abs and put on some extra neck/face fat that i’m now trying to lose. i had some questions about calories as i am fairly new to working out and nutrition (i’ve always eaten like shit) ok, first, with the workouts i’ve been doing recently, i burn about 500-600 calories a day, but my intake is anywhere from 1000-1300, so does this mean im technically gaining weight? also, can anyone recommend any filling, low calorie foods? anything helps, thanks

EDIT: Am i supposed to be burning more calories with exercise than i eat in a day?

@charlief90 You’ve gained fat because you were from being active to sedentary. Eating in a deficit is more important than energy expended via exercise. Make you you’ve calculated your TDEE and selected your current activity levels, eat 300-500 below this to lose fat

@zastari okok understood, but with what i’m doing now, burning 500-600 calories through exercises a day, and i take in around 1000-1200, am i currently losing or gaining weight?

@charlief90 You shouldn’t be eating as low as 1000 calories. I don’t know how you’re calculating calories expended through exercises as smart watches/machines are extremely inaccurate. Do what I told you to do in my previous comment

@charlief90 What she’s saying is 100% factual and what needs to be done. You need to calculate your TDEE (total daily energy expenditure).

If you eat less calories than that, you’re in a deficit and will lose weight
If you eat more calories, you’re in a surplus and will gain weight