*Questions regarding pushups*

primpoisepiety

1. Which muscles does it target mainly?
  2. Based on Q.1 which day should I include pushups in? (Upper body or leg)
P.s- my upper body days are divided into two i.e triceps + chest and back + abs

Leg days are also parted into two.
  1. Where should I feel the "good" kind of muscle pain after pushups to know that the form was right and I hit the right places?
  2. I only just started and currently do 4×5 pushups at least 3-4 days a week i.e all of the days I go to gym. Should I adjust to gain better results? How? If you have any advice, please share.
  3. Do you have any tips regarding forms and such? I'm a beginner so any tips would be really appreciated.
  4. How well does pushup work for flappy underarms, fatty back and tummy?

@primpoisepiety
  1. Mostly chest (and back for me, when I'm protracting my shoulders at the top of a pushup), some arms.
  2. Definitely not legs or lower body.
  3. Across the back, chest, and sometimes in your arms
  4. Push-up advice and progressions: r/bodyweightfitness Antranik is basically the master of this.
    to start
  5. See #4
  6. It can help fill in the arms with muscles, but in terms of fatty deposits, you can't spot reduce. Fat will be lost mostly during cardio diet. Pushups are typically a form of strength training (using body weight). While you do burn calories in strength training for energy, majority of fat burn will done during cardio (compared to strength training, but proper nutrition/calorie deficit is the best).

@jl090812 Just to add to point 6. Yes, cardio burns more fat than strength training in terms of time, but cardio will not out-do a bad diet. Depending on the person and the workout, a 30 minute cardio workout can burn around 300 - 400 calories. That's not going to out-do poor eating habits. That would be about 6 oreo cookies. The main way to lose weight via fat loss is through a caloric deficit and healthy foods.

@primpoisepiety