musicianchick21

Hi all! I have been doing this program for a few months now. My PT friend made it for me. I’ve been having issues with back stiffness and hip / glute tightness. My physio believes I need to stop doing barbell squats and potentially deads to fix my issues ( I enjoy them though that’s the problem). My routine days are Sunday (legs) Monday (rest), Tuesday (push), Wednesday (pull),
Thursday (legs), Friday (push) and Saturday (pull).

Day 1 legs:
Squats - 5x5
(Replaced with hack hack squat per advice from physio ).
Leg press 4 x 6-8
RDL 4 x 6-8
Lunges 4 x12
Leg extension 4 x 8
Leg curl 4 x 8

Day 2 push:
Bench press 5 x 5
Overhead press 4 x 6
DB flat bench 4 x 6-8
Lateral raise 3 x 12
Cable crossovers 3 x 12
Tricep pull-down 4 x 10-12
Tricep overhead 4 x 10-12

Day 3 pull:
Deadlift 5 x 5
Lat pull-down /weighted pull up 4 x 6-8
Seated row 4 x 6-8
Dumbell curl standing 4 x 8-10
Dumbell hammer curl 4 x 8-10
Facepulls 4 x 12-15.

Please rate, tear apart or give advice. I have a feeling I’m doing too much volume. My height is roughly 5,8, current weight 82kg.

Thanks!

@musicianchick21 Your workout plan is one of the more solid ones if seen here. How often do u go to the gym?

Your physio seems to be an idiot or incompetent. Just not doing something is early a good fix. If you are doing any exercise correctly, the only problem should be the doms u get the following days. You need to identify the problem. I'd suggest uWork on some hip mobility and stretching and find a new physio.

@bnm Thanks. Definitely doing my mobility lately. I’m just wondering if having a pelvic tilt or an anatomically shorter leg is causing the issues I’m having.

@musicianchick21 I don’t think you stop squats all together.
Maybe do them but lower the weight a bit and really focus on glute/hammy strength AND ON YOUR FORM. You likely have too much weight and/or have bad form. Lower the weight