Roast My (Beginner's At-Home) Strength Training Plan

annefaye

I’m hoping that this subreddit can give me some feedback on my beginner's strength training regime. I’ve been scouring the internet and reading articles/watching videos trying to put together a plan that works for me, because for reasons mentioned below I’m not able to go to the gym and have limited equipment at home. If anyone is willing to review my workout routine and meal plan to let me know what they think I would greatly appreciate it.

Me​

At some point during this quarantine I realized that I was starting to gain weight. I picked up running for the first time in my life and discovered that it made me feel fantastic – mentally and physically (I’ve been running consistently for the last three months, usually ranging from 3 – 8 miles). It also made me realize how many areas of my physical care I was neglecting. I’ve always tried not to go overboard with my eating – meaning reasonable moderation and avoiding chips and the like whenever possible, but I had never cared about it all that much. As I watched those five pounds melt away I realized how out of shape I was since I hadn’t done any sort consistent strength training since high school (when it was forced). I decided to take a deep dive and figure myself out while I still can. I’ve very recently learned that I have been exposed to someone who has tested positive for the coronavirus, so my running is coming to a grinding halt and the gym is off the table. I do have membership to a gym that I’ve rarely used, but for purposes of quarantine and some other timing factors I am trying to build a routine based around the equipment I have available to me at home (which is admittedly limited).