Seeking Advice

racheljay50

I know that to lose weight you need to count calories. I’ve never been too great at that. My stats are I’m 49, in full-on peri menopause with all the trimmings, 5’0” and (as of this am) 122.5 lbs.
When I turned 40 I weighed 109. I had two kids in my 30s and my body never was quite the same (of course and I totally get it). I’ve always enjoyed being active and working out. I was more athletic when I was young (played sports) which kept me in shape.
After I had kids, between that and my work as a nurse, my self care and time to exercise went to the way-side. As did my diet (I just started eating what my kids were because as a single full time working mom I didn’t have time to think about anything else and many Mac n cheeses later here we are).

I still struggle to find time to work out. I work full time and the kids are very busy (& don’t drive yet!). I watch the scale climb and I just want to find a way to slow my “thickening stage” (as one of my good friends refers to perimenopause as 😂). My current exercise is: running a 5k once or maybe twice a week. I also do yoga once a week (I need the stretch). My diet isn’t terrible but I definitely eat carbs.
I guess I just wanted to write this all out somewhere. You guys often inspire me. Thank you 😊

@racheljay50 For someone who is busy, I think the most effective way to burn more calories is to up your NEAT - Non-exercise activity thermogenesis.

Think of your day & what you can do to boost your overall caloric expenditure. Can you walk or bike some places instead of driving a car? Take the stairs more? Switch chores with your kids to take more physical ones like taking out the garbage or mopping the floor? If your kids have sports/theater/whatever can you help set up? Do a wall sit while you brush your teeth? Etc...

I think it helps to shift your perspective. I feel it's easy to feel exhausted & pick the default rest options when you're so busy (I'm guilty of this too).