Weight Progression (KB sport)

missy9211

Hi

This is a repost from r/Kettlebellsport

I’m new to bells and lifting in general coming from a martial arts / yoga background. I’ve built a general base using kettlebells following Mark Wildmans advice on his YouTube channel (swings, squats, c&p, tgup) and recently been focusing more on the kettlebell sport aspect

I’m after some advice about how to make big jumps in weight. I’ve an odd collection of bells having been gifted many of them -

2x12kg
2x16kg
2x24kg
1x32kg

At some point I’d like to be able to do a 10min snatch set with the 32 (though I’m aware it’s a long, long way off!)

I’ve gotten to the point where I can do 10minutes long cycle with the 12s (6rpm) and have started to include the 16s in my training.

I’m comfortable with planning my training for the 16s but am wondering if there is any extra work I can do to prepare me for using the 24s (which can later be applied to the 32s). I currently can’t even press them.

I do use the 24 and 32 for heavy “hard style” swing sets a couple of times a week

I’m not in a position to buy any in between weights and don’t have access to a gym though I do have some resistance bands.

I’m hoping there is some knowledge on this considering kbs would have just been available in 1, 1.5 and 2 poods. 🤞

Thanks in advance!

@missy9211 Nice work getting to the 10’ with the 12s!!

You’re totally right, 16->24->32 was how the progression went for all lifters back in the day because those were the only bells available! And I vaguely remember Denis mentioning somewhere that this was how he learned and then immediately said it was brutal and he didn’t recommend it lol. And funnily enough he recommends everyone go up in 2 kg increments now which isn’t necessary but just some food for thought. I didn’t do it that way (and most of us can’t afford to) but I think it does emphasize the point that gradual increase is good. Gives your body time to adjust.