What's your fitness history?

karengodsgirlk2

We seem to be a collection of people with vastly different levels and backgrounds. It might be interesting to share our history and experience here.

I'll start. I'm M/65. I've never been athletic, only occasionally engaged in physical activities in my younger years. In my late 40s I got involved with social dancing (swing/lindy hop/salsa/waltz etc) and was in my best shape ever. Had to stop that after 3-4 years due to injuries (dance injuries are real) and work. I've been doing home dumbbell routine on and off for the last 10 years (currently on) and I'm in better shape than I was at age 45.

OK, your turn

@karengodsgirlk2 I was a really bad skinny little football player in high school, but I was a good tennis player. Number one seed on the varsity team.

Joined the Marines at 17 and served 6 years. Later served 2 years in the US Army National Guard Special Forces. I was about 165# and pretty fit at that point.

I fell in love with the Martial Arts in the USMC and trained in Kyokushin Karate, TaeKwonDo and Traditional Jujitsu. During that time I also competed in various knock down, semi-full-contact and points style tournaments.

I have always strength trained all along, with various layoffs during my life. Sometimes being very consistent and other times not working out at all.

I have also always been very active: Rucking, biking, hiking, canoeing, kayaking, splitting firewood, etc...

In the last few years I have begun to feel my age and have been much more consistent about weight training, despite some recent health issues that have kept me out of the gym including hernia and cancer (skin) operations. I have been very consistent lately though and it is making a big difference in my physique and my lifts.

I'm 62 this year. Currently 5'-11", 210# and about 17% bodyfat.