Why is working out so F***ing confusing?!

85justine

Hello!

I’m a 19 year old college freshman and am doing what seemingly every college freshman is going, trying to “get big”, or in my case, just trying to lose some fat and gain some muscle.

I am 5’ 8’’ and weigh 150-155 depending on the day. I have been working out for around 6 weeks and might be seeing results, I can’t really tell.

Before working out, I would not eat a ton but I still had some gut fat and was starting to get some small moobs which is when I realized things had to change haha. So I started lifting for about 30-35 minutes and then cardio for about 15. (Back and Biceps, Legs, tricep and chest, rest is the rotation I’m using although I have been lazy on the weekends (whoops).

My weight has stayed about the same and that’s why I am worried I’m doing everything wrong.
With doing research on what I should be eating, I see “oh you NEED to have Whey protein powder and some pre workout!” So I bought some whey but don’t really have a lot to mix it with so to low sugar protien drinks and shakes that are sold. Also people say “AVOID SUGAR” so I’ll avoid sugar and then I read “AVOID AVOIDING SUGAR BECAUSE OF FAKE SUGAR THAT IS BAD” so I’m like oh.... also- should I be eating a lot if I want to lose belly fat- or should I wait? But if I don’t eat a lot- doesn’t that mean I’m just lifting without building muscle which is something I would absolutely hate! To do.... help!!!

TL,DR: I am worried I am working out but not doing enjoy to see results, but when I try to see what’s going on, answers are so mixed and confusing.

I am sure some of you have gone thru this so please help!- you can DM if needed because I know these posts get taken down after a few hours. Thank you!