Will lack of core training hold me back?

pennyrn

I’ve been training for about 3 years (albeit on and off due to covid lockdowns)
Training is going well and feel like I’m making some consistent progress now.

Currently doing P,P,L,P,P,L,every week. But something that has been in the back of my mind is that I’ve neglected core exercises the whole time.

Can probably count on 2 hands the amount of times I’ve gone to train Abs. Not sure why I don’t train core, maybe it’s because I don’t care about a 6 pack, maybe it’s because I don’t enjoy doing it.

I just wanted to know how much it could hold me back in my overall progress, if at all?

@pennyrn Depends on what "progress" you're referring to holding back.

Overall physique? ( Seeing as this is a bodybuilding sub) Yes obviously.

Lifts? Depending on which lifts, yeah it may hold you back.

Life in general? Certainly. The bigger you are, the more you're core has to stabilize. The heavier you lift, the more your core has to stabilize. And it protects your back.

All that being said, if you are setting up your lifts properly, you ARE still training core to a degree. It's involved in everything really.

My pitch to you is this though. You lift because you want to take care of yourself/look better/track lift progress/etc., so why not throw some core days in?

You stand nothing to lose.

@pennyrn Many exercises will train your core isometrically as it works as a stabilizer muscle. For some people, especially people who don't care about their abs' appearance, that's enough.

If you want hypertrophy of your ab muscles, you should do direct ab training a couple of times per week.

@pinetowntree Got any tips/ideas for someone (me) who wants to incorporate Ab work into their routine?

I train my Core with Overhead Carries, Pallof Presses & Offset Carries, but I'd like to do some direct Ab work that doesn't include grip work/holding weights.