Workout planner tool inspired by 3DMJ's book Muscle & Strength pyramid

savis

I recently finished the 3DMJ's books - the training pyramid and the nutrition pyramid. They're so awesome! Probably the best books I've read so far on lifting and nutrition.

It felt a bit tricky to apply the program building principles in practice. For nutrition, they have FitGenie app (which is actually great), but not for the training planning.

Eric lists a bunch of principles how to build programs, like sets per muscle group ranges, strength / hypertrophy split, how to plan mesocycles (like - reducing volume / increasing intensity), etc, etc. Kinda a lot of variables to keep in my head.

Since I'm a software engineer, I decide to write a tool for that (when you have is a hammer, you tend to see every problem as a nail).

So, meet the Workout Planner: https://www.liftosaur.com/planner

It allows to plan your workout programs, to ensure you have proper number of sets per muscle group, or per movement (push, pull, etc). It also tries to predict the total workout time based on the exercises in the workout and the number of sets x reps.

Type your exercises in the text field for each day (it'll show the autocompletion to speed it up), and put your sets x reps after the slash (/). One exercise per line. I.e. something like this:

Code:
Bench Press / 5x5  
Bicep Curl / 3x8  
Standing Calf Raise / 3x8-12
// ... and so on ...

If you put a cursor to some exercise, it'll show additional info - info about that exercise muscles / muscle groups, also intensity and volume graphs week over week for multi-week programs. The graphs and the weekly stats may help to plan intermediate / advanced weightlifting programs, with mesocycles, volume accumulating blocks, deload periods, etc. In the Settings, you can specify the set ranges per muscle group, your desired hypertrophy/strength sets split and rest timer.