19.3, an owner’s ignorance, and a culture of cheating

will8764

I’m a part time coach at a gym, so I have a key to the place. I walked in yesterday and saw a 50’ course marked out on the floor. Supposing someone might have used this 50’ course to do 19.3, which is prohibited, I texted the coach who was overseeing Open Gym, and he confirmed my suspicions.

I then texted our owner and pointed him to the part of the standards that says a 25’ down and back course is the maximum length allowed. His response was very uninterested and he said he would have to look into the standards himself. There are cameras in the gym, so he could easily check the tape to confirm if people were using this 50’ course or not.

Now I know that no one in our gym is going to the games, but for me this is an integrity issue. There are standards for these workouts for a reason, and seeing people ignore those standards pisses me off.

I should mention that this isn’t the first related issue like this. This Open alone I have seen missed wallballs being counted as good reps in 19.1, power cleans being counted as squat cleans in 19.2, and people not getting their whole foot over the line during the lunges this week. I’m worried that these simple acts of cutting corners is permeating the culture of our gym.

What do y’all think? Am I being too sensitive? Should I get a life and stop being a bitch? Affiliate owners, how do you feel about this and how is it handled in your gym?

@mrjobosco You're right that they're not mutually exclusive, but I think what was meant was that a lot of gym owners are just trying to fill the gym without regard to the good practices CF tries to implement and to the detriment of good culture. However, this isn't something new. I remember seeing shitty gyms with shitty standards and movement quality since I started doing CF over 8 years ago.