[#2] I am a personal trainer with 6 years of experience and have been a vegan for the past 5. I'm here to help, ask me anything

extraneous

Good afternoon, r/vegantiness. Ten days ago, I hosted an AMA with in-depth answers to your questions. As I was still receiving them today, here is another one. For whoever missed the first, the description is quoted below. Once again, I'm here to answer whatever you need.

From my previous AMA:

I am a personal trainer with a Sport Sciences degree who became a vegan during its course. Had many jobs on the field but am currently working as freelance while enrolling on a masters in Health and Nutrition.

Plant-based diets as a complement to scientific-based PA protocols has helped me improve the life of patients suffering a varied range of metabolic diseases and physical injuries. I mainly work in rehabilitation and injury prevention but I can help any of you with the usual diet/aesthetics.

I haven't done much of the reddit-trainer stuff as I don't aggree with the philosophy of most communities, but I can definitely stand behind r/veganfitness. If you need any help, just ask.

P.D: if the mods need credentials to verify me I can hit you up with the european certificate of my degree, meanwhile just ask away.

@extraneous Hi! Thanks for doing this!

I keep being told whey protein is better than pea, hemp, or other vegan protein powders since apparently whey is more concentrated protein- true or false?

@dawn16 Hello, you're welcome!

False. There are multiples studies on plant-based protein isolates (here's soy and here's pea, as two examples). Not a single paper I've read up to date following a gold-standard (peer-reviewed, randomised controlled trials on humans) that shows difference between lean body mass or strength gains with either of the protein isolates. In my honest opinions, these studies aren't even necessary as there is little difference in biochemical composition between the most common isolates.