3 Month GZCL-P Progress Report (745lbs-915lbs) M/36/6'0 (205lbs - 192lbs)

romrulida

Hey /r/fitness30plus,

I originally posted this to /r/fitness but considering there was a recent discussion about more quality posts in this sub, I thought I would try posting here as well. I am proud of my progress and I did my best to record it.

TLDR
Been active for most of my life. Always been "fit" for the most part but never strong. Found a LP program I liked and got stronger. Who would of thunk?

Background
I have been studying and/or teaching martial arts for the last 20 years. My focus has been karate and stand-up jujutsu. Needless to say when I was in my prime training days there was a lot of conditioning, isometrics, and body weight stuff. I also hit the weights doing bro-splits or whatever the flavor of the month muscle and fitness suggested (Anyone remember the "Add 1-inch to Arms in One Day" workout? Spoiler! It doesn't really work). Regardless, always around 180-185 and well-conditioned. Fit but not really strong.

Fast-forward to 2009. Now I mainly teach martial arts. I still work-out (basically dick around with weights for 45 mins and then do a hour of cardio). Then one of my buddies told me about crossfit. Bear in mind this around 2009-2010 cf was just picking up. Me and 3 or 4 friends would do WODs which mainly consisted of metcoms, plyometrics, and bodyweight stuff. We rarely touched a barbell.

A few years later I joined a "box" but I really lucked out because it was run by a strength coach who did power athlete /crossfit football programing. There i learned weightlifting and powerlifting. I definitely got stronger but due to the nature of the class the focus was again on conditioning and explosiveness. Fit but not really all the strong

Present day