34M - multiple injuries and getting back on the wagon - 5/3/1 or 8/6/3?

markusdrury

I've been training on and off for the last 7-8 years but never really consistently. In the autumn after about six months of actual consistent training I managed to get a 75kg OHP, 100kg Bench, 120kg squat and 145kg deadlift - my strongest ever. During a 1's' week I hurt my shoulder (seeing a physio) and then pulled my back which wiped me out.

I really enjoyed 5/3/1 + triumvirate - it's just about the right length and frequency that I can do it after I get up in the morning and still have time for a shower and to get to work on time. (I have a home gym). Now I'm getting back into the game, I don't want to risk injuring myself AGAIN - so my thoughts were to switch to 8/6/3 to reduce the %max I'm lifting on a given day (and thus, reducing the chance of bad form at maximal weight) but still get what benefits I can.

Any thoughts?

@markusdrury I (49m) switched off 531 when I started training jujitsu. Pushing for PR‘s was too much and exacerbated minor strains and injuries. I’m now on a higher rep, lower weight program. Goal is to build more muscle around my joints and tbh, aesthetics.

TL/DR - higher reps lower weight has worked. Able to train and increase strength while not making injuries worse and delaying recovery

@snippy Depends if you’ve wrestled or grappled before, but pretty steep. Which is also what makes it gratifying. Whatever ego you have will be destroyed on the regular.

On average I train twice a week but also strength train, do yoga and whenever possible, hit an open mat too.

@snippy Not /@warriorinchrist25 but I went for an intro session at a gym nearby and it was amazing just for that hour. I couldn't justify the cost or the schedule to take it further, but it was really fun.