4 day split? (25 y/o)

godsmusician

I’d love some assistance or wisdom from the OG’s
Basically I’ve been working out for 4 years. I was doing your typical bro split for the first three years and made some pretty good gainz I think. A year ago I started this job with a 4 on 4 off schedule, 12 hour shifts. So I’ve basically been working out 4 days then having 4 off as the 12 hours kick my ass. I do a leg day my first day off, chest/bi/abs the 2nd, tri’s and shoulders the 3rd, then bi’s and back the final day off, and I do calves anytime I hit the gym (though they refuse to grow) my split probably sucks but I don’t know what else to do.. In the last year of working out I have pretty much stayed the exact same which is depressing. I’d like to get up to 200 pounds without getting to fat. The last year I’ve pretty much hovered around 180. My diets not terrible, no soda, lots of protein though I don’t track my macros. I guess I’m just wondering if you guy have any optimal training routines or schedules that would benefit me more. I could hit the gym on my work days aswell to ensure I’m hitting each muscle twice a week it will just suck. I am not a body builder nor do I want to be, I just want to look jacked.

@godsmusician The split is rarely the problem. The reason you are not progressing is probably a mix of these:

a) Not eating enough calories

b) Not recovering enough

c) Not progressing with your lifts and not going close to muscle failure. You can't expect to grow muscles if you still lift the same weights you did last year. The reason most people fail to progress with their lifts are: diet / technique / too low of intensity

I personally like to use the Top Set / Backoff Set method to progress with my lifts. You can google how that works and give it a try