A message about scaling. I’m sharing this with my clients tomorrow, and I figured I’d post it here first

To understand the magnitude and importance of scaling, we first need to establish our reason for WHY we train in the first place.

For the vast majority of us, the reason we work out is to live longer, healthier, and happier lives. Some side effects of goals like this are— getting stronger, looking better, feeling better, moving better, mental clarity, self-confidence, and an array of other benefits.

So what does this have to do with scaling?

When we scale a workout, we’re making an educated decision that benefits us in the long haul. You may have heard me say this before, but fitness isn’t a sprint, it’s a marathon. We have our whole lives to get fit.

Just because you CAN RX a workout, doesn’t mean that you should.

Read that again. It’s important.

Even as a coach, I scale at least 75% of all workouts that I do. That’s not because I can’t RX workouts— it’s because it’s the wise thing to do.

Let me explain—

Every workout has something that is called, “intended stimulus.”

Any good workout program will have rhyme and reason. Rhyme and reason is another term for intended stimulus. It’s the “why” behind everything that we do.

Here’s an example.

Let’s take a work out that I just made up.

3 rounds of...

5 deadlifts at 315

3 ring muscle ups

1 clean and jerk at 155

On paper, I can do this work out. I can deadlift 315 lbs. I have ring muscle ups in my arsenal. I clean and jerk 155 during my strength sessions.

By all counts, I should be able to RX this workout.

But I wouldn’t. And this is why—

The intended stimulus of a workout like this to sprint. To hustle. It’s a quick, short, explosive workout. It’s the exact opposite of Murph.

This workout SHOULD take someone less than 5 minutes.

Knowing my physical limitations though, I know that this workout would take me closer to 10 minutes. It wouldn’t be a sprint for me. It would be a strength session.