A month of weight loss (5'3 155lb-151lb) and what's working so far

joe1982

Greetings!

Like many of you, I decided to start 2024 with a goal to get in shape and lose some weight. I'm in my mid-thirties, 5'3, and have usually averaged my adult life around 140-145ish, and that's always been with a "gee, it would be great to get down to 135 mindset". These past two years, I've done 8 IVF Egg retrieval cycles and boy howdy did that make me gain weight - I went up to 156 in December and that was an all time high for me.

I've some experience with losing 10 lbs really fast for my wedding through Keto, and basically gaining it slowly all back once I went off, so I decided I was going to do slow and steady, like recommended. Here's an overview of what's worked over the past month:
  1. Using Macrofactor (MF) to get a better idea of my expenditure. This only works if you're a good logger and a good weigh-inner, both of which I don't mind doing on a daily basis. But as a short woman, it's been hard to figure out what my actual expenditure was and this has been helpful.
  2. Staying close-ish to MF recommendations: MF puts me at an expenditure of around 1700 calories. It suggests around 1430 calories during the week with more on the weekend (1550) to have me losing .5 lbs a week. I try and stay close to this, but I regularly go over both week/weekend by around 50-100 calories.
  3. Foodwise, what's worked for me has been:
    1. Simple Intermittent Fasting: I just don't eat before noon - I've never been super hungry in the morning, so this is easy. The only thing that took adjusting was drinking black coffee, but once I leaned into being a coffee snob that got much more palatable. I try to stop eating at 8PM. I don't lose my mind if this doesn't happen - for example, today I'm getting brunch at 11AM and sometimes we get a late night weekend pizza slice when coming back from stuff.