Advice as a 24 y/o lifelong dieter

falconeye

Hello!!!

Found this sub and I feel like it’s exactly what I needed (I’m 5’1 and no less than 200lbs).

I’ve hated my body for as long as I can remember. Learned behavior from my mom :( I found my my fitness pal acc with a picture of me at no older than 14. This has come with an array of eating problems.

I’m going on a cruise in july and disney in january. I really want to put in the work but I’m a teacher and chronically exhausted (weight probably doesn’t help ikik). I really want to try and push myself but counting calories scares me. I haven’t stepped on a scale in months and before that, years. Both me and my husband hate cooking so we’re always eating fast food. Not to mention I’ve been gaining weight since I met him 😅😅

I have all these excuses and I need something to keep me from using them. I want to loose weight but there’s a mental block.

Any advice? Suggestions? Pls help :(:

@falconeye I might be going against the grain here, but you don't have to count calories. I'll say 1) find an activity you like and consistently do it and 2) focus on getting protein at every single meal.

Hate cooking? Me too. Pop into the store and buy some pre-cooked chicken breasts in the deli, buy some microwavable veggies, get some pre-cooked rice. Portion and pop into meal prep containers with a sauce you like. You can 'meal prep' for a week in less than 15 minutes. That's obviously the simplest and cheapest meal prep; you can definitely get creative with it.

(Pre cooked meats are absolutely goated, I could spend so much time perusing the store for them. I went to the store yesterday and found premade carnitas for super cheap because they were set to expire in a few days. I bought a bunch and shoved them in my freezer lol)