Are any of you in the health/fitness field as a career?

notpaige

If so, what, and how’d you get there? I’m a 20 y/o F looking to take this path, but having a bit of confusion on where to start!

@notpaige I work for a mobile DXA scan company. I got into it because I was a customer and asked if they were hiring! I love it, it’s pretty much my ideal job since I love fitness and data lol. It’s also salaried which is great.

@notpaige I am a part-time fitness instructor and my sister is a full-time instructor/physical therapist. There are a few options for you. It really depends on your goals.

1) You could go the fitness certification route. It costs around $300-$500 to get certified for group fitness or personal training through organizations like the American Council of Exercise (ACE) or the National Academy of Sports Fitness (NASM). These will allow you to work in gyms teaching classes or being a personal trainer. You can also pick up smaller, focused, certifications for classes like Zumba, Bootcamp, Body Pump, Aqua Fitness, etc. This is what I am doing.

2) The other option is to get a degree in something fitness related such as sports medicine or physical therapy. This will open up full time options such as working as a physical therapist or as a trainer/therapist in a hospital/rehab setting. This is what my sister is doing. There are other jobs than rehab but these are the most obvious choices.

Many people with certifications work part-time while those with a degree work full-time. There are exceptions of course and it all depends on your dedication and motivation to work full-time.

@notpaige Right now I work in a hospital. Started my first job at 19 at a small doctors office, then work as a unit secretary on an OB floor before going to the ER.