Beginner simple and sinister questions

yangum

Hello!

I’m a newbie to kettlebells and I have a few questions. I’m halfway through reading simple and sinister and I’m really keen to get stuck in. I have an 8kg kettlebell (I’m a woman).

Im just wondering how I might work Simple and sinister around some other goals I have. I’d like to work towards being able to do full sets of push ups, pull ups, L sits, handstand holds and pistol squats (my upper body lags well behind my lower body in strength).

My background is 3days a week full body 1.5hr barbell/dumbbell strength training in hypertrophy ranges. I was lifting for 2.5 years, then had time off while pregnant and recovering, and I’ve been back into the gym for 9 months.

How would I work towards my calisthenics goals along with simple and sinister, especially if (from what I gather so far) simple and sinister is a daily training schedule.

Would I be best “greasing the groove” with my calisthenics, or doing a calisthenics program 2-3 days a week on top of simple and sinister, or swap out S&S days for calisthenic days.

Additionally, after practicing some basic kettlebell movements over the last few weeks I’ve found 8kg seems good for upper body (other than rows) but it feels too light for lower body (goblet squats and deadlifts are definitely too easy, swings seem easy but I’m still working on technique so probably not a bad thing to be light). When should I increase kettlebell weight for lower body?

Anyone have any suggestions?
😊 thanks

@yangum Simple and Sinister is intended to be ran along with other programs. I'd say go with S&S and your 3 day a week calisthenics and see how you feel.

Also go get a heavier bell 😜

@yangum I agree with what they are saying. Ive been doing S&S 3 times a week and gymnastics rings 2 times per week its been good. Just try to get some legwork in there I feel I have gotten my shoulders a little tired and needed to ease back from the calisthenics. Listen to your body!