Body part split better than upper/lower?

michaelsouby

I've been lifting for quite a few years, recently used the Upper/Lower scheme for 1 year, but I stalled. I'm thinking about going back to the 4 day split. What do you think about the below program?

Progression on the work sets is to add weight when I reach top of the rep range on all sets.

Day 1: Back, biceps

Deadlifts 3 x 6-8 (+ 3 warmup sets 10/8/3 reps)

Weighted pullups 3 x 6-8

Barbell rows 3 x 6-8

Cable rows 3 x 8-10

V-bar pulldowns 2 x 8-10

Barbell curls 3 x 6-8

Dumbbell curls 3 x 8-10

Day 2: Chest, triceps

Bench press 3 x 6-8 (+ 3 warmup sets 10/8/3 reps)

Dumbbell incline press 3 x 6-8

Dumbbell flyes 3 x 8-10

Weighted dips (torso upright) 3 x 6-8

Lying triceps extensions 3 x 8-10

Triceps pushdowns 3 x 8-10

Day 3: Light cardio

Day 4: Quads, hams, calves

Squats 4 x 6-8 (+ 3 warmup sets 10/8/3 reps)

Leg presses 3 x 8-10

Leg extensions 3 x 12-15

Romanian deadlifts 3 x 8-10

Leg curls 3 x 8-10

Standing calf raises 3 x 10-12

Seated calf raises 3 x 12-15

Day 5: Delts, traps, abs

Seated dumbbell presses 3 x 6-8 (+ 3 warmup sets 10/8/3 reps)

Side lateral raises 3 x 10-12

Bent-over lateral raises 3 x 10-12

Barbell shrugs 4 x 8-10

Hanging leg raises 3 x amrap

Weighted crunches 3 x 12-15

Day 6 & 7: Light cardio or off

@michaelsouby I've been training consistently for 4 years now. I started late in life and never resistance trained until I was 32 years old and after going on a huge diet where I lost 150lbs and went from >30% bf to 9% at my lightest.

From that point, I felt like I was too skinny and that's what got me interested in lifting weights vs just doing cardio all the time.