Bulking (and Cutting) for the first time!

caspernl

Background: I'm 35 years old, 172cm (~5'8") and am currently at about 67kg (~148lbs), eating between 2800-3000 (40% protein, 35% carb, 25% fat) calories a day.

Context:
  • I used to be pretty scrawny (skinny-fat in fact) before I started on my fitness journey
  • I have been hitting the gym for a few years but only took it seriously in the second half of 2023 by going 4-5 times a week religiously and trying to push myself to failure.
  • I have however noticed that I plateaued for a few months now.
  • My goal is to achieve a lean physique (image here for reference).
  • I used to maintain a weight of 57-60kg (125-132lbs) but for some reason the belly fat just stuck with me which was the main reason why I decided to start bulking
  • I realized sleep is really critical and something that I unfortunately do not have the luxury of. I have been diagnosed with Upper Airway Resistance Syndrome - which basically interrupts my sleep where I wake up multiple times through the night. I am in the midst of getting double jaw surgery to fix this.
  • Bulking hasn't been easy. As someone who has been skinny all his life, I lose weight so much more easily than gaining weight and it always bums me to see my weight fall back a few kilos/pounds after eating what I thought was a crazy day of meals. But, slow and easy - after some months of really forcing myself to eat, I've seen my weight increased steadily.
  • I learn a lot from fitness content online but because it's so saturated and often times, it's common to hear a person say one thing, and another person contradict - so there's been a lot of trial-and-error on my end. I can only say there's no one-size-fit-all solution and until today, it's still a learning process and I still consider myself fairly new to the fitness world - hence why I started this thread to see if I can get some advice to achieving my goal.