Can y’all rate my workout and diet I’m trying to lose fat and get some muscle. I’m just starting out by the way

zulubwoy

30-45 minutes on the elliptical at jogging pace

5/3/1 strength building program , 45 reps in total for each workout 3 workout sets.

I eat about 1900 calories as calculated by macros and get anywhere between 80-100 grams of protein a day. I weigh 172 lbs now I’m 6’3 and 16. I used to be pretty obese now I’m at 23% body fat trying to get 15% body fat.

@zulubwoy If you gain weight, some of it will always be fat. Just like if you lose weight, some of it will always be muscle. Proper diet and exercise will maximize the intended goal and limit negative affects.

@zulubwoy You definitely need more protein, shoot for at least 160g/day if not more. Doesn't matter how you get it. That'll up your calories some, which is fine, you need them (if not even more). Keep doing what you're doing and things will sort themselves out. It's not a process you can really rush.

@zulubwoy It only gets slower the leaner you get. The 40 came off pretty easy. The next 20 will be much harder. Getting into the low teens, bodyfat-wise, requires borderline unhealthy dedication levels.

@zulubwoy 23% bf is already a healthy weight. You're 6'3", 173 lbs. What do you think you have to show off once you cut down even slimmer? Just keep chipping away at it. Keep building the muscle, keep slowly losing fat. Fat loss slows, yes, but think of it like a roll of paper towels. With a new roll, you can pull off one (or even many) towels and you won't notice a difference. But the smaller the roll gets, the more of an impact each sheet makes.

In other words, even slow weight loss has a visual impact the leaner you get.