CrossFit burnout?

bonlin

I’ve been doing CrossFit for the past 9 years. Started out of curiosity and fallen in love. Got my credentials, been coaching for 7 years, programming for my box, doing events, converted my shed into a small gym, got a shoe addiction… you know, the usual.

I am a solid lifter, have good conditioning and ok gymnastics. However, in the past few weeks I’ve been struggling. Struggling badly.

My lifts don’t always feel great, sometimes I have troubles hitting my percentages. My conditioning feels worse. I still can find joy in training but it’s irregular.

Checked my hormones: everything is OK. Test is ok, cholesterol is good.

Open is coming in 2 weeks time and I’m like ‘meh’ - I’ve signed up but couldn’t care.

Not sure what to. I like coaching, working with the people but maybe I’m doing too much? I have a full-time job next to it.

Maybe change my program? Been following Mayhem for 4 years.

Focus on other things like powerlifting?

@bonlin Probably just need a break. Every summer for the last 3 years I’ve switched to mostly bodybuilding/strength work to give myself a break from all the high intensity stuff.

If I feel good or think a particular workout looks fun, I’ll hop in a class and do a metcon, but I primarily focus on giving my body (and nervous system) a break for a little bit. I come back feeling good with some strength gains as well.

@nhla2 I do this as well just in the fall/winter (gives me an excuse to grow out the beard and wear layers while I’m feeling less trim)
The strength gains feel nice each January and I feel more confident as summer nears.

@nhla2 yeah - agree. take a break. Do other stuff.

I've become a garage gym all-star. I lift and row, maybe do some calisthenics. I put in WORK on the parallettes. L-sit for weeks.

I'm nowhere near as fit as a I was as when I was a (team) Games athlete, but who gives a shit how many muscle ups I can do. Sometimes it's OK to take some time off