Efficacy of 2 to 3 month mini bulks?

fatalfantasy

I started lifting after hitting a "normal" weight ~3 years ago, after being 100lbs overweight most my adult life. I'm cautious about gaining weight due to my history of obesity, so I've been doing 2 to 3 month periods of gaining 0.5-1.0lb per week followed by 4 to 6 week cuts to lose a portion of that weight (until I have at least the outline of abs). Over the three years I've gained 25lbs with roughly the same body fat %.

My progress in the past year has been very slow, but I've assumed that's due to my age (41) and the normal slow down of progress once some muscle is built. I'm doing a 5/3/1 template, adding weight when I hit 5 reps in the third week, but usually only able to add one rep per 3 week cycle to each lift.

Is my mini-bulk strategy holding me back?

Thanks!

@fatalfantasy So a weight gaining phase tends to build a bit of momentum as you go. Breaking that momentum every couple of months is not ideal. Also the ratio of time gaining vs losing does matter, and you're basically 2:1, which isn't terrible but also not optimal. More optimal is something like 4:1. So something like gain for 4 months, then have a 4-6 week cut. Or, my personal favorite, slowly gain for 8 months then have a 8 week cut. Especially if you only target .5lb per week, you should be able to go 6-8 months comfortably. I do this in my 40s no problem. You're only 41, it's not like you're 61. You're still young enough to progress well for the next few years.