Extremely confused about caloric deficits + healthy eating

simonpeter111

So I’m a beginner as you can tell, and I’m trying to lose weight + switch to a healthier lifestyle. (Context, I’m a 5’2, ≈130lbs, 18 y/o, female. I’m usually pretty active). Anyway, I have a lot of questions and confusion about the whole thing if someone could please give me advice!

1) If calorie deficit is the only thing that makes weight loss happen, then what’s the point of eating healthily/balanced, as long as it’s in deficit?

2)If exercising burns calories, but causes you to require more calories, then how does it aid weight loss?

3)If I burn an inconsistent amount of calories every day (on days I work, I usually burn 2,100+, on days I don’t work, I usually burn 1,400–1,800), how can I guarantee that my caloric deficit is always a deficit?

4) If you’re cooking, how can you keep track of how many calories you’re consuming? And how are you supposed to cook frequently and with good ingredients when you’re broke and extremely busy?

5)Also how am I supposed to be a normal person with a normal life and stuff if I can’t eat the majority of foods?! I’ve noticed even granola bars have ≈200 calories per, and I’ve been trying to do 1,500 calories a day, so I can’t even eat granola bars. Or bagels. Or peanut butter.

6) I know it’s okay to occasionally have a little treat, so on those days, are you supposed to just move on afterwards and eat like normal, as if you hadn’t eaten extra calories, or are you supposed to subtract your treat from your total daily calorie allowance and eat very little for the rest of the day?

I know it’s a lot, but any bit helps, thanks!

@simonpeter111
1) If calorie deficit is the only thing that makes weight loss happen, then what’s the point of eating healthily/balanced, as long as it’s in deficit?