Geoff Neupert Mini Program Review - Giant + Strong

marthaschramm

Background:

I’ve been lifting on and off for several years, did an internship a few years back with an SFGII instructor, learned a lot about kettlebells, movement, and lifting in general. I’ve been using 5/3/1 programming for the past year, and recently wanted to focus more on programming around kettlebells instead of barbells. Wife and I have our first baby on the way in July, and I’ve reassessed my goals since we learned she was pregnant. I no longer have goals of trying to be the biggest and strongest– not that I was ever even close anyway, but I used this as an excuse to not prioritize conditioning, not keeping bodyfat levels in check, and taking long rest periods between all my sets leading to long, unfocused workouts. With a baby on the way, I’ve re-evaluated and want to get more conditioned, maybe drop a few pounds while keeping what strength and muscle I have, and will need to get my workouts done in a shorter time with a baby in the house. All this had lead me to focus on using my kettlebells and less on barbells/dumbbells.

Programs:

I did some research, and the programs put out by Geoff Neupert seemed to fit what I was looking for – shorter workouts, simple progressions, limited exercises, not overly complicated and just a change of pace from the typical barbell workouts I was used to. I ended up buying two of his programs – the Giant, and Strong, both of which utilize the Clean and Press (though I don’t see why they couldn’t be tailored to other exercises). Within each program you buy, there are multiple programs. For example, the Giant contains Giant 1.0, Giant 1.1, Giant 1.2, Giant 2.0, and Giant 3.0.