Hello, everyone. I'm a rank newbie in the gym, seeking advice for building foundational strength. [32/M]

rockmanjl9981

Hey there, everybody! This is honestly the first time I've been relieved to be in the 30+ grouping.

(Holy wall of text below, bear with me.)

32M / 6'0" / 160lbs

History: Always been a skinnier guy, weighing between 155 - 185 lbs., depending on diet. Been slowly improving my health since my 20's, trying to take better care of myself. I have exercise-induced asthma that shuts me down pretty hard when I do intense cardio stuff, which has been a major impediment to this. Also have some lower back/spine issues which aren't a big problem but do make me more injury-prone and mean I have to be very careful about what I do and how.

Lifestyle: I sit too much, both at home and at work. Trying to move away from this (literally). I don't do much in the way of sporting activities currently, but I do like hiking/backpacking and try to get some bike time in when my asthma allows.

Diet: currently trying to stick as close to Primal as possible, but not crazy strict. Lots of good whole foods, meat and veg, very little processed or grain-heavy stuff. Trying to avoid sugars wherever possible (family history of heart disease and Type-2 diabetes, so I'm especially mindful of long-term diet consequences).

I started a new job last year with a small company. One of the head guys on staff is a personal trainer and we have a pretty nicely appointed little barebones gym on-site (Rogue squat/pull-up rack, Rogue bars, bumper plates, kettlebells, Concept 2 rower, etc.) He's a great dude and is helping me a lot, but he is also a Super Fitness Monster who does ultra-marathon and Strongman stuff and I'd be interested in opinions from others more in my league/situation.

What I'm interested in:
  • Good health (both 'how i feel' and by measurable metrics).
  • Balance (in all senses of the word).