How to get started lifting?

truthandlogic

Does anyone have tips (either routines and or equipment) for getting started lifting weights? Total beginner and would be doing this at home. Looking to build muscle and tone all over, but especially arms and upper legs/booty.

I have hand weights/dumbbells for working out, but the heaviest is 8lb. I also find that it is not so easy to do deadlifts, e.g. with a dumbbell in each hand, so wondering whether I should get a bar & plates? Or a kettlebell? Live in an apartment building so cannot do a lot of jumping or thumping lol. Any tips and suggestions are greatly appreciated.

@truthandlogic If you’re starting with lighter dumbbells and don’t want to buy heavier atm - I get it, they’re expensive - I think supersets and high rep sets will be your friend right now, as well as using bands to increase tension (bands are pretty inexpensive).

@truthandlogic I start with body exercises the first month to nail down form. Or use the bar with no weights. Or very light dumbbells.

I like Jeff Nippard videos for looking at good form and form variation options.

I like keeping a bench or low chair nearby for squats until I'm consistent on squatting low but not needlessly low. I still like to use that at heavier weights.

After a week to a month of good form where I can do 3x10, I start adding weight and play with the rep numbers.

I might have a day that's just adding weight to something like bench or squats until I hit 3 rep max or 1 rep max. Then I use that number to tackle lifting proportionately to my max. I might do 50% at 3x12 or 70% at 3x8 for example.

@abastzar I second the bodyweight exercises for beginners! I also like using resistance bands when the bodyweight exercises are no longer challenging.