I just strained my rotator cuff. About 2 weeks in, can't lift for 4 more weeks. What adjustments should I make?

dtik9

To give some background: I've been lifting for about 12 years, I'm 42(M) and my compound lifts are well above average. I do a lot of barbell and dumbbell work and like to run as well.

My split goes:

Day 1 - Chest/triceps
Rest day
Day 2- Back/biceps
Rest day
Day 3 - Legs/shoulders
Day 4 - 5k or more run
Rest day

Right off the bat, I'm fairly certain my shoulder was aggravated doing deadlifts. I'm questioning whether I should bother with that at all at my age. I'm doing PT now and will eventually be working in yoga once the pain subsides enough for me to do so. I can't return to lifting until probably week 1 of October.

I'm looking for anything - what lifts should I avoid? Which ones have helped those of you who have had an injury? I have a good set of PT stretches and exercises from my doctor too.

Thoughts?

TL;DR - 42 year old dude working through a shoulder injury looking for any advice for when he goes back in 1 month.

@dtik9 I am much older than you and still deadlift. With decent form and a proper warmup, you should be able to continue deadlifts for at least a few more decades.

If I had to pick an exercise to give up, it would be the bench press. I either injured my rotator cuff or front deltoid a few weeks ago while benching and bringing the bar to my chest is still painful. I didn't notice it at all when completing a current age PR deadlift.

When injured, I normally modify my program instead of skipping workouts. Rather than taking time off, if an injury is not serious, I will adjust the weight and range of motion. If I can't perform the exercise at all, I will try to find a replacement. When I had a broken arm, I did leg presses and squats with a modified bar.