Incline walking- how much should I be doing?

I am a super beginner at the gym. Like I just started less than a month ago. So far I am only doing incline walking. I do incline 9 (MAYYYBEE 10) speed 2.8, 30 mins and then incline 6 speed 3.2 15 mins, then incline 4 speed 3.2 5-15 mins.

The 9/10 incline kills me by the end of the 30 mins. I’m dripping in sweat. But I’ve seen people reccomend incline 12-15 for walking. How!? Am I just extremely out of shape? Should I be starting at a lower incline at the beginning of the workout instead?

I’m 24, 5’5, 150. I have a 3.5 year old daughter so I’ve been going to the gym 5 days a week, but I’m not sure how I’ll keep it up once she’s out of school for the summer.

@godsgraceisenough2013 First off OP, congratulations for trying to do the higher inclines. I remember when I first started I couldn't do anything beyond an incline of 7 percent. Speed was like 2.6 to 2.8 ?

It takes time to build up the endurance. I think with low impact treadmill work, you want to vary between working on incline and working on speed increases so that you can slowly tolerate more. I've been doing treadmill workouts for about a year and I still do incline 12.5 as max.

I usually use the Peloton app to guide me through the workout. Be careful with very high inclines because it can hurt the muscle in the front of your ankle.

But you are not very out of shape for struggling with it. You are just tackling something hard. Choose consistency to build your capacity in this domain.

@godsgraceisenough2013 I never do a super high incline on the treadmill. I stick between 6-8 incline with a speed of 3.5 mostly. This gives me chance to increase the speed if I want to, therefore upping the intensity. I don’t think the 12, 3, 30 workout is much to shout about tbh. It’s just a lot of effort for an incline walk!

@privatewoman I always reduce the incline before ending the workout