Insatiable appetite since I started lifting

jacksoncris

F, 5’3”, 130lb.

I’ve started lifting weights over the past two weeks, following the Brett Contreras Strong Curves beginners program that I often see mentioned here. Other than that I am mostly sedentary, averaging 7500 steps a day.

I’m at a healthy BMI but I’ve got an apple shaped body. My fat is disproportionately around my middle and upper arms, with skinny legs, no boobs, and no bum. My goal is body recomposition, to have more muscular thighs and bum, flatter tummy, and to have a healthy relationship with food.

I’ve noticed that since I began lifting I’ve been insatiably hungry. I’m eating a balanced diet with plenty of protein, carbs, veggies, & healthy fats.

A typical meal for me would be something like chicken, rice and veggies with tahini sauce, and I snack on things like apples and peanut butter and string cheese.

However, since starting to lift, I’ve been constantly ravenous and I’ve been eating around 2500 a day, which is a big surplus for my weight, height, muscle mass, and activity level.

I’m interested to hear about others’ experiences with this.

Did it even out over time? Do I need to restrict my eating somewhat? Is there anything else I can do to support healthy eating while I’m working on developing strength?

ETA this sub is the BEST, thank you all so much for sharing your experience and advice!

@jacksoncris Peanut butter is healthy, but it's very high in calories. As a snack if you're getting hungry, it might not be the best for curbing appetite. It can easily take up like a quarter of your calories for the day with a surprisingly small amount.

@jacksoncris I’d love to know what you’re eating to hit 2500 calories a day. When I eat healthy/do strength training I’m usually under calories (and protein) so protein suggestions also appreciated! I do what I can.

@laurahmerritt Today I have been tracking and so far, I ate:

Omelette

1/2 cream cheese bagel

3 quest bars

2 string cheese