Is three weeks of the gym worth it?

ecco

Backstory: I have been travelling for 7 months. I haven't been able to attend a gym in that time as I am moving around so often.

Before I travelled, I had been going to the gym 0-4x per week for like 20-30 minutes for over two years. I had a back injury a few years ago and this regular yet easy workout style kept it In check and me feeling strong and healthy and pain free.

Since Ive been travelling I've lost about 20kg including a majority of the muscle mass I had and my back pain has come back. I've found myself in one location for the next three and a half weeks and with enough time on my hands I could commit easily 1-2 hours a day during weekdays if I had to..

Question: If I go to the gym for the next few weeks on a membership, is it worth it? (Please note I'm not asking for medical advice if it will fix the pain or anything). I just want to know if it's possible to put on any muscle in a three week period. I'm sure almost any would help me, but if Its too short of a timeframe, I won't bother.

It'll likely be another 5 months minimum before I'm able to have access to a gym again

@ecco Building muscle and fitness is a long term commitment. However any type of exercise no matter how long or short is better then nothing. I don’t think you will see much gains maybe 6 weeks minimum to see anything in the mirror with calorie surplus and high protein?

@ecco Yes. You'd be surprised how little time our body needs to think "hey I don't think I need this fibers, I might as well let them fade away".

You might not be training for growth, but you gotta train to prevent loss.

@radiantjedichica Rightio. I think this has convinced me then, thanks! There's one about a 30 min walk away I can start tomorrow.

You're right, I can't let myself get weaker, I'll fade away and enjoying the rest of my trip will be difficult with ongoing pain and weakness.