Lagging lats after 7 years

directork

So I have been lifting for around 7 years (5 years seriously) and I have a pretty built body at 5’11, 205 lbs at around 15-17% bf with some visible abs and pretty happy overall with my physique.

But my lats are almost non-existent. I have a long upper body so it probably plays a role but I can’t make my lats grow. The last 2 years or so I have prioritized them and progressed in all exercises including different grips on Pullups up to 85 lbs for 3x5. Also progressed in various rep ranges on pulldowns, db rows and machine rows while dragging my elbows tight into my hips for lat bias.

I have also been using lifting straps and I do have an alright mind muscle connection.

Any tips? :)

Edit: pics:

@directork If you are able to rep weighted dead-hangs at your bodyweight +85 lbs your lats are plenty strong and developed. However, you are probably like me and might have very high insertions. Another issue, at least for me, is that one of the areas I hold fat is on the sides of my pecs in a band that stretches around to my lats. If I'm over 15% bodyfat, that area makes my pecs look much more full, but also tends to hide my lats and give me more of a barrel chested look. When I get leaner that goes away, my pecs shrink, but my lats are much more visible from the front.

The other thing that might be happening is that when you are looking at the mirror and trying to see your lats, you end up flexing them too much, either on purpose or subconsciously and that will actually "hide" them from view. It may sound counter-intuitive but you have to relax to get a good lat spread - it's one of the harder poses for most people to get right.

@benjaminthewolf Thank You so much, everything You write makes sense. I know they have to be pretty strong to have these lifts. I have no clue how to pose and tried the relaxed flex now and instantly saw them a bit more lol.