Looking for advice: mixing running and lifting

nausicaa

Hopefully this is the right place to ask since I’m not 25 anymore.

38M, 6’5, 245lbs

I weightlift 6x week (PPLPPL) but I’ve recently (past 4 months) really taken to cardio and increased my running to 4-5x week. About 4 weeks ago I reached the 15-mile mark, and I have stagnated in both fronts.

I’m an intermediate lifter: 365lb bench, 455 squat, 515 deadlift. I’ve been lifting for years but really started pushing weight last year after getting artificial disc replacement in my neck (c5-c7). Regaining feeling in my left arm/pec was life changing!

I’m a novice runner: 7:15 mile, 25:40 5k, 56:12 10k. My VO2max seems to be somewhere around 40-44.

Problem: If I try pushing running more, my lifting pays the price and I miss a ton of my weights; however, I do lots of tempo/sprint/recovery training each week and I do 10x100 sprints, but I’m not seeing any real improvements in my runs. I stretch and drink plenty of water but my calves still burn, ankles stay sore, and at around 8:30 pace my lungs start burning about a mile in. It’s been this way for 4 weeks now.

I don’t track calories, I was hovering around 18%bf prior to increasing my running so I started eating an extra PB&J for lunch but it hasn’t helped much.

I just feel incredibly fatigued and my deload weeks don’t seem to help much.

Am I not eating enough? Do I have reasonable expectations? Is 4 months still too soon for big results?

Thanks for any insight, I’d love to end the year in the 1400 club or a 21-minute 5k.

@nausicaa I pretty much ran every day from high school till my mid-50s (about 10 years ago). Been in and out of the gym all that time as well.

Want to first congratulate you on your stats - your 1RMs on major lifts as well as running distances and times. And dude - with your size your running stats are particularly impressive.