Newbie question: why does 'to failure' feel different for different muscles?

countrygirl011

I'm a novice with weights at the gym, so have started out with the machines. I'm still kinda figuring out what the right weight setting is for me. I have strong legs but lack strength in my upper body, especially shoulders.

For some exercises, 'to failure' is obvious. E.g. on the leg press, I set a weight where i can do 6 reps, and the 7th is just too hard. (I'm training for strength not hypertrophy).
But then other machines (e.g. leg curl, reverse fly) its harder to know what 'to failure really is, because I always feel i can do one more but the limiting factor is that it burns (lactic acid, I guess) like, the musxle is tired but not weak.

Is this normal and just a 'large muscles vs small muscle' difference? Or a sign I'm using too light a weight in the 'burn' exercises? Why does that fatigue/failure feel different? For leg press, chest press, lat pull down i never ever feel it burn. Just weakness.

@countrygirl011 I don’t think you are training to failure if you can do one more. Lactic acid wears off pretty quickly.

Try increasing the weight on the leg curls and see what happens.

@countrygirl011 Hey there, congrats on getting started at the gym!

Firstly, I never recommend beginners to train at or near failure. Take 3-4 weeks to just get comfortable with new movements before increasing intensity.

Secondly, the 'burn' is not actually caused by lactate. Lactate actually helps at the muscular level in preventing fatigue!! Hydrogen ions are what causes that burn. Not something to worry about at all. The differences you feel from one exercise to the next could be due to weight selection. As you keep getting more experience, you'll start to see marked differences in what weights you are able to use on each machine :)