Question about Compounds and specifically barbell movements

constantine1946

I was bored and scrolling these old posts.

Am I right to assume most of these people injured themselves at near 1RPMs? Doing 0-1 RIRs?

Or the weights were objectively high weights?

Because for reference, I feel like you can't cause injuries like that if you're being careful about autoregulation and load management? And addressing weak links? But its just a gut feeling. I'm still learning.

I've heard of people herniating their discs lifting a suitcase off the ground(20kg?)

And then there's people doing advanced strength numbers into their 50s.

For some reference.

My knees stopped clicking since I've been doing prehab/rehab of my own. The cause was improper movement mechanics, core imbalances/QL imbalances, weak glute medius, and improper action of the hamstrings during knee flexion, and some IT band issues.

The clicking caused an ACL tear initially for reference.. So it wasn't the harmless kind in my case.

My main questions would be->

Can you successfully reduce your chronic injury risk to near 0 if you're careful about->

Load Management

Autoregulation

Addressing Weak Links as they occur

A Well Balanced Program

Among other things..

What are those those people doing right that have managed to always stay on top of the game and lift heavy to their old age, and maintain a good physique, while others keep hurting themselves and keep cutting out certain lifts out?

Even from a bodybuilding perspective, I like the carryover (stability) wise from those compounds in my daily life.

I do understand Grade 1 tears/minor tendinopathy scares, and occasional mishap type injuries can still happen, but I don't consider those chronic.

Chronic for me is something that impairs day-to-day quality of life in the long term. (Disc issues,Nerve issues,Mobility Restrictions as a result of improper heavy lifting,grade 2/3 tears)

EDITED for better formatting.