Simple and Sinister Training Log and Review

gina7arth

Hey everyone, I wanted to share my experience with Simple & Sinister. I know there are many writeups on this program, but I wanted to reflect on my progress with kettlebells over the last year and a half, and S&S is the program that got me into KB training.

BACKGROUND

At the start of this program, I was 29 years old and had been in and out of various gyms since I was 18, but never much more than an average gymgoer, who was fortunate enough to have access to some good coaches who taught me the basic strength and power lifts.

At the start of the program, I weighed 75 kg at a height of 175 cm and some of my maxes were: C&J: 80 kg, squat: 140, deadlift: 150kg, Bench: 80 kg. This is just to say that I have some experience in the gym and am confident around weights, but still barely out of the novice, early intermediate phase for most of my lifts, especially my upper-body lifts.

FINDING THE PROGRAM

I became interested in KB training because of a lack of time as I was in the middle of a Master's degree while also holding a full-time job. Travelling to the gym and training for an hour or more 3-5 times a week was not possible, so I began looking for other options. I originally started training with various KB exercises and some of Dan John’s recommendations with a 20kg sport-style KB I purchased because it was a comfortable weight for pressing. I quickly found and stuck to S&S, and practiced continuously until reaching timeless simple and almost completing Simple Timed.

STARTING THE PROGRAM