Sometimes I think I should stop working out! (But I won’t)

tenayshus

F/31/5’5
I started my journey last June at 256 with calorie counting and walking daily 6-8k steps getting about 3k at work and standing /cleaning at my food retail job. I went down to 215 in November and I’ve been “stuck” here ever since. Coincidentally, November was also the time I started the gym. My goal is appearance I just want to look lean and fit. I’m a true beginner at the gym with zero experience and was getting so stoked hearing about beginners advantages but I haven’t experienced much difference in terms of size. I try not to fixate on the scale and my clothes fit slightly looser but I haven’t gone down a size since joining the gym.. people say to go off pics, clothes, measurements but it’s all been the same. Sometimes I don’t feel confident in my calories and getting from 256 to 215 was a struggle. I tried various things like fasting, omad which did work but didn’t seem long term and didn’t feel too healthy for me. I’m constantly wondering if I’m eating the right calories because the lovely tdee calculators are all different and I question my activity level because I’ve heard “don’t overestimate your activity! But don’t undereat!” I’m also concerned that I should be doing a “body recomp” and eating slightly under maintenance but I haven’t been losing anything this way either. I feel so stuck and I was so motivated in the beginning but sometimes I feel so lost and confused with all the info out there. I do feel my arm muscles more and feel like I can definitely walk/jog longer and faster than last year which is great but it wasn’t my goal. I just really wanna see some change so I often think of not lifting anymore and just focus on what I did at first with just walking but then I’d lose the little muscle I did put on right? I think adding strength training calories has been really hard to determine and put me in a really confused state. I go 4-5 times a week with one hour of lifting an