The case for more stretching

alfie13

Two days ago, there was a great post about the neglected aspects of fitness, with stretching being one of them. Coincidentially, I was researching static stretching at that time because my physical therapist told me to stretch more to address my flexibility issues. And as a scientist, I wanted to know more about stretching, what it is good for, when to do it, etc., so I read through scientific literature. This is what I found, and I hope it'll contribute to the discussion around stretching & flexibility :)

TLDR: A summary of this post can be found at the bottom in the "summary & conclusion" section.

What Is Static Stretching?​

Static stretching describes the lengthening of a muscle until you feel either a stretch sensation or discomfort (Cronin et al. 2008; Behm et al. 2004). Once you’re in this position, you keep the muscle stretched for a set amount of time (Ebben et al. 2004).

Does Static Stretching Increase Flexibility & ROM?​

Interestingly, all scientific studies published to date unanimously agree that static stretching (or all forms of stretching, for that matter), significantly increase joint range of motion (ROM). And since flexibility is defined as “the ability to voluntarily move a joint through its full range of motion” (Page, 2012), it’s safe to say that stretching makes you more flexible.