The "Manly Physique" Protocol

donnessa

Longtime lurker, first time poster. My name is Roy and I do kettlebells. :)

What follows is my self-designed protocol for building a more "manly physique" -- that I've been running for the last 3 months to good results.

\"Manly Physique!\"

[note: my tongue is planted firmly in my cheek in calling this "Manly Physique," but there's a reason why you clicked]

If we're really honest with ourselves, one of the big reasons we do fitness is because we want to "look good naked." Don't know whose marketing team came up with that slogan first, but they nailed it.

And research has found that women tend to find men most attractive when they have this version of a "manly physique"... A V-torso, smaller waist, bigger shoulders, and nice arms. Strong but not swole. Swimmer or crossfit body. Or, better, a kettlebell body!

(Bonus, that also tends to be a healthy body if you don't take anything to extremes.)

Getting this body mostly involves managing your food intake, plus strengthening your arms, shoulders, upper back, and core, plus keeping that posterior chain nice and tight.

The great news is that when you do this using kettlebell and bodyweight exercises similar to what I've laid out below, you also have very capable overall fitness and strength, and can move your body easily.

So I developed a KB/bodyweight workout plan with these goals in mind. And have been running it for about 3 months and loving it. It's very sustainable, and I'm seeing continuous development of that "manly physique." (I can't NOT put that in quotes.)

At 38, I probably have the overall most "Manly Physique" I've ever had, even compared to when I played hockey as a teenager.

The exercises: