What am I doing wrong? (x-posted to r/fitness)

cherrelle

First of all, I have read the FAQ and regularly browse this sub on my main account. I could not find an answer in the FAQ.

22 years old, female, 5'2", 115lbs, unknown bf% but not very fit. Taking omega 3, vitamin d, multivitamin, oral contraceptives, antidepressants, and stimulants. No known health problems. My sleep is less than ideal (not enough hours, poor quality) but that is something I am trying to fix. My goals are to decrease body fat, increase functional strength, increase glute size, and fix my posture.

I've been working out for about 3 months and see almost no progress (and some regression) in terms of increased weight lifted, body weight, and body size/composition. My lifts have barely increased, body weight is pretty constant, and I am slowly but surely putting on more fat (measurements/clothes fitting differently/visual changes). Every time I work out I am in an incredibly terrible mood before/during/after, my anxiety/irritability noticeably decreases, and I feel pretty depressed for the rest of the day. I never get an endorphin rush, or a sense of being glad I worked out. Everything I have read says that exercise helps 100% of people with depression/anxiety so it's a pretty big sign I'm REALLY doing something wrong if it is making these things worse for me.

I eat at maintenance, which I calculated by starting with a number from a TDEE calculator and adjusting until my weight was constant for a few months at the amount I'm eating. I know I am not eating enough protein, and I already ordered protein powder and will start supplementing with that as soon as it ships. As far as I know, not enough protein shouldn't be causing me to gain fat, though.